You are here:   International


International Engagement and Participation

Standards Australia is the Australian member of the International Organization for Standardization (ISO), the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC), and the Pacific Area Standards Congress (PASC). It also supports the Australian Government through the Asia-Pacific Economic Co-operation (APEC), Sub-Committee on Standards and Conformance. To the maximum extent possible, Standards Australia seeks to align our Standards with relevant international Standards.

Australia's Participation on ISO/TC 215 – Health Informatics

Australia is a founding member of ISO’s  Technical Committee, TC 215 – Health Informatics and continues to play a leading role in the drafting and development of International Standards. Australian experts over many years have contributed to the Technical Committee's large, complex and growing work program.

As a  "Participating" or "P" member of ISO/TC 215, Australia votes on Draft International Standards (DIS) and Final Draft International Standards (FDIS), Technical Specifications, and Technical Reports, within the ISO process. Australian health informatics experts also travel and attend international meetings on behalf of Australia to ensure that Australia’s views are considered in the development of international Standards. Standards Australia provides opportunities for Australians to expand its engagement in ISO/TC 215 (and HL7).

Australia also continues to provide leadership and active participation in the development of the numerous New Work Item Proposals and leverages International health informatics Standards to support national e-health initiatives and priorities.

Since 1998, ISO/TC 215- Health Informatics with extensive Australian and international involvement has developed standards within the following scope:

Standardization in the field of information for health, and Health Information and Communications Technology (ICT) to promote interoperability between independent systems, to enable compatibility and consistency for health information and data, as well as to reduce duplication of effort and redundancies.

The domain of ICT for health includes but is not limited to:

  • Healthcare delivery;
  • Disease prevention and wellness promotion;
  • Public health and surveillance; and
  • Clinical research related to health service.

Total number of published ISO standards related to the TC and its SCs (number includes updates): in excess of 90
Number of published ISO standards under the direct responsibility of TC 215 (number includes updates): in excess of 90

ISO/TC 215 – Health Informatics also hosts some 32  active participating (P-member) countries, including Australia, and 24 observing (O-member) countries. It maintains an extensive assortment of liaisons and linkages through its standardization activities efforts, including but not limited to: Higher Level Seven (HL7), the International Health Terminology Standards Development Organization (IHTSDO) and the European Committee for Standardization (CEN)/TC 251 – Health Informatics.

ISO/TC 215 through  its 8 Working Groups and 1 Joint Working Group typically meets twice per year to develop standards and related guidance documents. This includes a Plenary Meeting in May and a Joint Working Group Meeting in September. Additional out-of-cycle meetings are held as required; ad hoc meetings, in conjunction with ISO/TC 215’s principal liaison Standards Development Organisation (SDO) partners, HL7 and CEN/TC 251, also occur on a regular basis.

For more information on the Technical Committee, ISO/TC 215 – Health Informatics and its work, please visit the ISO website, see or alternatively contact Standards Australia for more details.

For information on ISO/TC 215 meetings, download the ISO/TC 215 Rolling Meeting Calendar with HL7 dates as reference.